Lent

Going to a Baptist church at home and now a non denominational one I have never celebrated Lent. I’m sure it has been talked about at both of my churches…at least the idea behind it of sacrificing not nearly as much as Christ sacrificed but to help us remember what he did and to reflect on that and remember it by sacrificing something ourselves.

I think it is a wonderful idea and celebration and I think I might join in this year. I really did not completely comprehend it enough in previous years to do it but I feel like I am at a point where it woud be good for me as I am really trying to learn more abut my faith and grow spiritually an dpersonally. Plus, sometimes the best way to learn about something is to just dive in assuming the motives behind it are good and true.

So, what to give up? I’m debating between television, facebook, and meat. I think I’m leaning more towards meat but we’ll have to see and whatever I decide I’ll have to draw up a little contract for myself so I don’t cheat and I know what qualifies as cheating.

Anyway Ash Wednesday is fast approaching so I must go contemplate on my decision…well, that among many other things but you get the idea.

What are you giving up?

2 thoughts on “Lent

  1. yay! I got to see you yesterday!

    we need to spend time together more often… even if we have no special reason to… (I got back to my apt last night and I was really thankful to have been gone for the night)

    I hope this week is more exciting than stressfull! and good luck on your cabin hunting 😉

    Love ya!

Leave a Reply

