Equality

Today many of my friends are marching in DC in the National Equality March. I wanted to go but I couldn’t get out of work because everyone I work with is going. I’m fine with that:)

I really think that it is crazy that in 2009 people still do not have equal rights. But I love that those people are standing up for what they believe in. I think everyone should have the rights listed below.

* The right to work our jobs and go to school free of harassment and discrimination.
* The right to safety in our daily lives, and protection from hate crimes.
* The right to equitable healthcare, and the right to donate blood.
* The right to equitable immigration policies.
* The right to marry.
* The right to serve in the military openly.
(I copied these from Pinkisthenewblog. Gotta give credit where credit is due.)

I have a lot of friends that for religious reasons think homosexuality is wrong. Everyone is entitled to believe what they want. (I am religious but do not necessarily agree with my friend) However, I think this issue goes beyond religion. Whether or not you think homosexuality is wrong, should it really be the governments place to say? Shouldn’t people be able to lead the life they want. Isn’t this the land of the free? If what you do is wrong, you are the one who will suffer the consequences anyway. And besides whatever happened to separation of church and state?

EQUALITY NOW!

Leave a Reply

