The last few weekends

May has been sorta crazy. To start off I flew to Orlando for a couple days to see my cousin Ian graduate college. Then 2 weeks later I flew to SC for a solid 40 hours to attend my friend Kayla’s wedding:) And this weekend I’m flying back to Orlando to see my younger cousin Connor graduate high school. Since I was traveling so much I left Cocoa with my family in Orlando (they drove her back to SC with them) and it turned out to be s mart decision. Poor thing ended up being diagnosed with bladder stones. She had surgery yesterday and is totally going to be fine. But if she had been with me when all her bladder shenanigans were happening it would have been more difficult to handle and I probably would have had to take a day or two off work. Which I’m willing to do, but if it can be avoided all the better. Thanks, mom!

Anyway, here are photos from the college graduation, wedding, and all the shenanigans in between:)

DSCN1511 (2)

IMG_3062

He looks like a celebrity greeting his adoring public.

DSCN1536 (2)

Ian with my mom. It’s unintentionally candid (redundant) and I kind of love it.

DSCN1530 (2)

The cousins!

DSCN1544 (2)

Ian gave a little speech at lunch. He looks like a young Jon Hamm, no?

IMG_3087

Photo on the menu. Celebrity.

IMG_3189

Baby girl lounging in Orlando. Life is hard.

IMG_3186

Work follows me.

IMG_3181

We went to Harry Potter World! If you don’t understand the next several photos, you don’t understand me.

IMG_3178

Except this one. This was just a cool duck hanging at the restaurant where we ate lunch.

IMG_3176

IMG_3175

IMG_3150

IMG_3128

IMG_3124

IMG_3110

IMG_3106

IMG_3102

IMG_3196

IMG_3201

IMG_3195

The following weekend My friend LeeAnn and I ate here and saw Macbeth on Broadway with Alan Cumming.

IMG_3203

Tara and I checked out a rooftop bar for her bachelorette party!

IMG_3206

I guess these views are okay;)

I also went to a coworker’s Burlesque show with some girls from my new office. I don’t have any photos but I can assure you it was a lot of fun!

IMG_3209

Sunday brunch with Alison!

IMG_3212

I entered a healthy cooking competition at work. I don’t know how healthy this actually was (which is probably why I didn’t win) but my original plan ended up disgusting (pumpkin quesadillas) so spinach dip and rice chips for the (not) win! All the entries (including mine) were vegan and gluten free. Also, I fried up those rice chips myself:)

IMG_1892

Then it was off to SC for Kayla’s wedding! Here she is as her dad walks her down the aisle.

IMG_1891

This is the groom’s face as she walks down the aisle. I always look at the groom but this time I took a photo and I kind of love the expression on his face!

IMG_1893

IMG_1900

IMG_1903

After the ceremony they danced down the aisle!

IMG_1907

There were some mad libs and this is the advice my friends and I left for the happy couple!

IMG_1923

With Ashley, the maid of honor:)

IMG_1929

With Kate!!!

I also saw The Last 5 Years off-Broadway and I saw Matilda! All thoroughly enjoyable!

I didn’t really take any pictures from this past weekend (Memorial Day), but it was (for the most part) a solid balance of being lazy vs. being social. On Saturday night I met up with Sarah. We got a light dinner at Le Pain Quitodien, a cocktail at The Smith, and then saw Iron Man 3 (really enjoyed this!). On Sunday I rented On The Road (not sure how I feel about the movie, but I feel the same way about the book. On the bright side, Kstew may be a reasonable actress after all!) on demand and took a bike ride. Monday I got up earlyish and saw Frances Ha (highly recommend…super charming).

The weather on Monday was lovely, too:) I also got to see my friends Tara and Joe, but it was under some unfortunate circumstances which I’ll tell you about later:( I mean, we’re all physically and friendship-wise fine, but it’s something that deserves its own post and I’m not prepared to write about it now.

And on that ominous note I leave you with my super grown up realization that I had on Thursday/Friday: I don’t have time for things that don’t make me happy.

Right?! Do you feel me? I can’ t go super into detail here (it wouldn’t be professional), but I will say that I was ushering a show and for one specific reason (not involving the show itself or the other ushers) I no longer enjoy working that theatre, so I will work that theatre no longer. I will come back to it in a few months maybe. I’m not protesting it, I just need to be at other houses for a while. And I feel super relieved to have made this declaration! Not like it was bothering me, like I knew a declaration was coming but didn’t know what it would be. It’s just nice to realize things like this sooner in life as opposed to later, I think.

Okay, I’ll stop being deep now. Talk soon, sweet friends!

 

PS I worked on my layout a bit, just simplified the side bar, moved some things to the footer area, and changed the title. Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

